journeysineating

Blogging Anxiety

In Uncategorized on January 16, 2011 at 10:00 am

I discovered food blogs about a year and a half ago when I was a new vegan (I am no longer vegan) and needed to learn what to eat and how to cook. The world of food blogs was very exciting to me. Up until this time my meals consisted of deli meat sandwiches, microwaved vegetables, and cereal, cereal, cereal! All though my mom is a wonderful cook, my skills were sadly lacking. As time passed my skills improved and started to desire a space of my own to share and try new recipes. But… something was holding me back.

My diet wasn’t perfect enough, I wasn’t a good writer, I didn’t own a professional camera and didn’t know the first thing about photography, and I certaintly wasn’t the best chef out there.

In short, I had blogging anxiety.

This is a topic I feel is rarely touched on in blogland. As a recovering perfectionist, I know how scary it can be to try something new and then publish it for the whole world to see. But here’s the thing, its okay to be bad.

Let me repeat, its ok to be bad at new things. In fact, its human!

I have found over the past few years that often the things that we have the most anxiety about are the things that turn out to be the most rewarding. Life is too short to live by our fears. Scared of trying a new food? Go for it! Scared of trying out for a new internship? You can do it!

Scared of starting your own blog? There is nothing to be scared of.

Sometimes in life, in order to get what we want we need to be willing to be vulnerable. And that’s a beautiful thing.

Me, after hiking for two hours, in front of the Apalachicola River

All you bloggers out there, did you have “blogging anxiety” before starting your blog?

Leave a Reply

